“2014: Year In Hell”

Terrible-Year1

Much like the fictional “Festivus” holiday of Seinfeld, I sit down in Studio 4 with my friend, Colin Norris Hall, and air my grievances of the past twelve months. This was a spur-of-the-moment episode; the idea of which arrived via [the]Facebook wherein posts from friends and acquaintances boasted of spectacular years and thanking me (ME!) for “being a part of it”. Unlike “Festivus”, there is no pole to be planted into the cold, hard ground nor is there is a wrestling match in which someone must pin me before we can sit down to dinner.

“I’ve been seeing these greeting card-type things on Facebook lately – as we get to the end of the year. They tend to say the same thing: “It’s been a great year. Thanks for being a part of it!” It’s a nice sentiment, but two things strike me. Number one is – I don’t feel I was a part of this year’s success for many people, especially people sending these greetings out, and Number two – It has been a horrible year for me and my family. ”

Leave a Reply

